EYV Exercise 4.2 Natural Light (2)

I first attempted this exercise keeping my viewpoint the same in each image. I felt that this would show the changes to the light more clearly by allowing a comparison of like with like. I kept my aperture constant so that the images would look the same in terms of depth of field. Please see EYV Exercise 4-2 (part 1)

I wanted to have another go at the exercise and try ‘working into’ my subject as suggested in the course notes.

I chose a nearby pretty location for convenience and decided to photograph whatever caught my eye. I did not attempt to maintain consistent viewpoints but I tried to concentrate on looking at the light and how it influenced my choice of image. I was interested in how the light highlighted and drew my attention to different things at different times of the day.

Using manual mode made it easier to capture the darker images, and I consciously tried to capture the image as I saw it. This involved deliberate comparison between what I saw and what I saw through the viewfinder. I tried to experiment with focal length but chose to use only my 16-55 zoom, and experimented with higher than usual ISO because the ground was too wet for me to use my tripod.

I took my first images at 8am and decided on approximately 2 hour intervals throughout the day, ending at about 4pm as it was getting dark.

8am

The beginning of the day was really beautiful, the sky was  just starting to lighten and the sky was blue.  This was a diffused soft light and there were no shadows. At 8am in the open field, the colour of the grass was being revealed and the light caught the fence, the water and the leaves. I feel that this was a soft light that made everything very pretty.

field-8am-3

 field-8am-6

field-8am-8
field-8am-11
10am

Things looked very different 2 hours later. Still a soft light with no shadow, but obviously lighter. The sky was pale and grey with cloud. I found myself more drawn to the details rather then the whole scene and took images of rain drops and branches, picking out the colours and contrast revealed by the light. The colours seemed cooler and muted.

field-10am-3

field-10am-6
field-10am-8
field-10am-10
field-10am-11 

field-10am-13

field-10am-15
12 Noon

At noon, I felt that not much had changed. However, I felt less inspired and everything seemed flatter and slightly less pretty. I think the light may be cooler though I found it hard to be certain about this since some of my images show warmer colours.

field-12-00-1

 

field-12-00-3

field-12-00-7

field-12-00-8
field-12-00-10

At 12.30 the sun came out and so I changed my 2 hour plan and went out again. The sun made a big difference to the colours and I was particularly drawn to the bright orange – compare this image to my noon one. The shadows gave the field a more interesting look and emphasised the texture of the leaves.

field-12-30-1

field-12-30-2

field-12-30-3

My battery ran out so my 12.30 session resulted in fewer images. Lesson learned.

2pm

Things looked very different in the mid afternoon. The sun created long shadows. Not the hard shadows of an afternoon summer sun but the light was harder and I was drawn to capturing mostly wider shots rather than detail. However, I liked the light reflecting from the trees. I noticed in the third images the light has created a haziness in the trees.

field-2pm-12 field-2pm-9 field-2pm-7 field-2pm-4 field-2pm-3

4pm

At 4pm it was dusk and things changed again. My images show a soft light again with warm colours and a blue sky. These images are similar to my 8am images and everything looks very pretty again. It is perhaps not so dark so more colour can be seen, which I think makes these scenes more attractive

field-4pm-1

field-4pm-2
field-4pm-3 

field-4pm-4

field-4pm-5

Overall, an interesting and enjoyable exercise in preparation for assignment 4.

Leave a Reply

