Learning reflection – General

23 December 2016

My Assignment 3 almost didn’t make it to my tutor. Not that I didn’t post it, but, it seems, I didn’t secure it well enough and it arrived open. Thankfully, the contents had stayed put, but I will make doubly sure my future assignments are well sealed. The package contained a photo-book, not expensive particularly, but it would have taken some time to have it re-done.

I was not in a position to vouch for the quality of my photo-book last time I made a diary entry, so I will include here, a couple of photos:

photobook-3

This is the small soft-back photo-book from Whitewall. It costs about £10 with the same again for postage, or thereabouts. I show it next to my mouse and keyboard for size – it is A5ish, and I thought it was just right for my assignment. I also submitted A4 prints to my tutor, but the book enabled me to include quotations, which were part of my work:

photobook-4

Overall, I was really pleased with the quality, and would recommend Whitewall to anyone interested.

I am about to start part four of the course and this means using my camera on manual mode. I am looking forward to this and am already feeling that it makes sense, and is a lot easier than I thought it would be. Looking back over the last few months, I am pleased with how much I have learned using the automatic modes, and in using different apertures, shutter speeds, focal lengths etc for different effects and I really want to try and incorporate my learning into this next part of the course.

My tutor’s feedback, as always, has given me much cause for reflection and further learning, and I am grateful for the direction and support he gives me. I want to continue to work on my creativity (I know I have to work hard at this) and my technical skills, and try to get to grips with some of the theories and debates, and look at the work of other practitioners – the list goes on, and I feel I have so much to do and learn, but I feel I am making progress.

I really enjoyed the December edition of the British Journal of Photography and was very much looking forward to the next one. However, I am always mildly uncomfortable with nudes. I was, therefore, disappointed initially that this month’s has (yet more!) female nudes. I do not enjoy looking at these images and my first impression is always why! why! why! do we need more pictures of naked women? However, I noticed that these belonged to a female photographer, and keen to move on in terms of current thoughts about the position of women in society, and address my own reservations,  I am intrigued as to the political position from which women shoot pictures of other women, including nudes. I intend to look carefully at the articles in an attempt to understand and further my knowledge, and perhaps overcome my resistance to images like this.

Please see my post of the work of Lena C Emery

One thought on “Learning reflection – General

Leave a Reply

