EYV Exercise 3.2 The Trace of Movement (Part 2)

Since first reading through the course notes for part 3, and as part of my preparation and research for assignment 3, I wanted to try multiple exposure techniques to show movement so I decided to make a second attempt at exercise 3.2.

Unsure whether making a double exposure image was best done in camera or in post editing, I decided to download a multiple exposure app to my camera. I certainly must have been determined since this involved a steep learning curve. First I had to update my camera firmware since my current version would not support the app, then I had to download the app to my camera. Easier said then done. However, I will cut a very long and tedious story short and simply show you the results of my initial practice, taken on a motorbike racing weekend with my husband.

Here is the result of my first attempt.

double-ex-3

I took one image with my husband’s finger stretched out prior to pulling the lever. I then took a second image with the finger drawn in as he finished the movement. This final image is the result of my camera processing these two images into one. I wanted to show a sense of movement in the action of using the clutch. I used a tripod to ensure that the rest of the hand remained as still as possible.

 

double-ex-2

I attempted this image while hand holding my camera. I wanted to show the movement of the flag on this fairly windy day. The lesson learned was to use a tripod. Hopefully then I would have ended up with one flagpole rather than two.

 

double-ex-4

Not sure what to say about this one, except that it was experimental. I quite like the abstract result. This image was taken by focusing on a particular leaf and then taking a second photograph of the same leaf  blown to a new position by the wind. My camera merged the two images and I enhanced the colours in photoshop.

This exercise is not intended to produce a cohesive sequence of images. I wanted only to experiment with a new technique and consider the outcome. This capturing of movement is something that I hope to return to and may consider in assignment 3.

 

 

Leave a Reply

