EYV Exercise 3.2 The Trace of Movement

The brief for this exercise was first to research some of the artists who have used slow shutter speeds to record movement.

Please see my posts on Hiroshi Sugimoto  and  Francesca Woodman

I have also looked at the work of Robert Capa, Robert Frank and Michael Wesely, and have collected images and made notes in my sketch book.

Second, the brief was to use a slow shutter, multiple exposure, or other technique, to try to record the trace of movement within a frame. A selection of shots, shooting data and a description of the process should be included.

My first attempt for this exercise was made at Lake Windermere. There were many tourists taking selfies against a background of swans and boats and I wanted to capture the movement of the people at this popular beauty spot to create an image that showed the place as busy and crowded, but without detracting from the beauty of the surroundings.

However, I couldn’t slow the shutter enough because it was a very bright day. I resolved to buy filters when I got home and decided on plan B.

I began to think about the reality of my experience in the Lake District. My experience was not one of swans and boats and selfies. I was touring with my husband, and consequently spent a substantial amount of time admiring the views from the passenger seat of our van. I decided to try to re-create my views of the area by photographing with a slow shutter from our moving vehicle.

I steadied my camera on the partly open window, which functioned as a tripod to ensure vertical stability. Because the van, and hence my camera, moved horizontally for the duration of the shutter opening, the scenes were captured as I perceived them with my eyes as we rushed by. The result suggested a more realistic representation of my experience as a tourist in the area.

Here are some of my favourite images:

exercise-3-1-1

exercise-3-2-6

exercise-3-2-8

exercise-3-2-4

exercise-3-2-10

exercise-3-2-5

These images were all taken with a shutter speed of between 1/8 and 1/13, and an aperture of between f20 and f22. ISO 100. I particularly like the final image, which shows, through reflection, the items on our dashboard alongside the image of the road we are yet to travel. The car in the distance adds to the sense of movement.

I enjoyed this exercise and was quite pleased with my final images. I feel that they capture the trace of our movement through the countryside and offer a challenge to traditional views of the Lake District.

Note

I made a second attempt at this exercise. Please see my post:  EYV Exercise 3.2 The Trace of Movement (part 2)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

